Jumping Jax

Childcare

Our house is a 3 bed detached house in a quiet cul-de-sac. I have a large conservatory at the back of the house which looks out onto the garden, and this is the base for the children's play. There is a secure garden at the back of the house which the children have free use of. The garden is an addition to the space inside my house and has a number of outdoor toys and activities in it for the children to play with and enjoy. The garden is visited by a number of different birds, which the children enjoy feeding and watching. We are also visited by a number of hedgehogs and squirrels during the evening.

There will be times when my family will be in the house when I am looking after your child, my partner Andrew and my mother, Julie, have had extensive CRB checks. During the times when my family or friends are in the house they will be interacting with your child and perhaps taking part in activities with the children. I can assure you that while they are very trustworthy they will not be involved with the intimate care of your child i.e. changing nappies or toilet routines. They totally support my career and will assist me when they can.

My Training

As well as being a qualified teacher I have also undergone a number of courses in order to become a childminder. These include;

  • Introduction to Childcare (2010)
  • A paediatric first aid course (2010,2013, 2017)
  • Talking Matters - helping children communicate (2010)
  • Signs and Symbols Training for Childminders (2011, 2014)
  • Safe Guarding children course (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017)
  • Diploma in Children and Young People's workforce (2011-2012)
  • Let's Interact - supporting children's speech and communication (2012)
  • Communication Friendly Spaces - how to create environments that encourage children's speech and communication (2012)
  • Esater Crafts (2012)
  • NCMA Local - a monthly meeting of local childminders to discuss changes in childminding and provide support and guidance for each other.
  • Story Telling (2012)
  • Forest School Experience (2012) craft activity ideas to do in the woods
  • I take part in the Every Child a Talker (ECaT) scheme which aims to support children with speech and language difficulties.-Every Child a Talker (ECaT) is a national project to develop the language and communication of children from birth to five years of age. The project was set up after concern about the high levels of 'language impoverishment' in the UK, and how this affects children’s progress in school and chances in life. 
  • I am an accredited childminder which means I can offer government funded places to 3 and 4 year olds as an alternative to nursery.
  • Revised EYFS (2012) A guide on the revised EYFS, it's changes and how to implement it (August 2012)
  • Christmas Sensory Crafts (November 2012)
  • Christmas Crafts (December 2012)
  • Attachment Training (January 2013)
  • EYFS Information Session (February 2013)
  • Junk Modelling (March 2013)
  • Early Years Professional Status (EYPS) (2013)-(EYPS) is a professional status for practitioners at the Early Years Foundation Stage (ages 0 - 5), which is intended to be broadly equivalent to Qualified Teacher Status (ages 5 - 18). Introduced by the British government in 2007, via the Children's Workforce Development Council, EYPS courses require a degree, and include an assessment in an early years setting - either a placement or within the trainee's own early years workplace.
  • Designated Person Safeguarding (2014)


I am always on the look out for courses to extend my knowledge and enjoy learning new skills and techniques and trying them out in my own work.

Hi my name is Jacqui, I am an Ofsted registered Childminder working in Forest Town, near Mansfield. I am 35 years old and have previously worked as a teacher in a variety of schools including a private school and a school in Doha, Qatar. I decided to follow my heart and do something I really wanted to, which is to look after children in my own home. I started my business caring for my niece and nephew and it has grown from there.

In my spare time I enjoy spending time with my husband, Andrew, friends and family, taking my step-son, nieces and nephew out on trips, going to the cinema and out for meals.

About Me